James Madison


James MadisonJames Madison (1751-1836) was the fourth President of the United States, serving from 1809 to 1817. He was closely involved in writing both the American Constitution and the Bill of Rights and is sometimes called the 'Father of the Constitution', though he was too modest to accept the nickname.

Together with Thomas Jefferson, Madison established the Democratic-Republican Party which tried to protect the rights of states rather than increasing the power of the national government.

Followed as President by:

James Monroe
James Monroe

Become a Member to access 39,192 printables!